The web guidelines

A quality model for websites

The Web Guidelines are a national standard that help ensure high-quality, accessible websites. The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0, a specification developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) are fully integrated in Web Guidelines version 2, without adjustments.

Besides the accessbility, the Web Guidelines also help ensure the universality of web content.
Therefor, Web Guidelines version 2 contains guidelines about:

  • Semantically correct use of technologies for web content;
  • Separation of content, style and behaviour for better manageability;
  • Layered application of web technologies;
  • Meaningful error messages;
  • The user friendliness of forms;
  • Multiligualism of web content;
  • Nested viewports;
  • character encoding using UTF-8;
  • Open specifications;
  • Clear, unique and durable URIs.